Room for Rent - Large Unfurnished/furnished double room


Grays Inn Road WC1
£1,000.00 per month (plus a deposit of £800.00)
CharlieWC1

Summary


House or Flat: flat
Own Parking: No
Own Bathroom: No
Internet Access: Yes
Room Size: double
Available From: 15 May 20
Gender: male property, male or female lodger sought
Smoking: prefer non-smoker
Bills Included: gas, electricity, water, telephone, council tax, cable/satellite

Full Description


I was meant to be renting out this room to a friend who due to the ongoing situation has had to cancel all her work in London. So am tentatively seeing if there is anyone else who might be interested in something similar. Here’s what I was offering her…

The flat has just been painted throughout and is looking wonderfully spick and span. It’s a Victorian mansion so has lovely high ceilings and the room is large with massive windows so with it being West facing, is very light and airy especially towards the end of the day. But it has beautiful very heavy blackout curtains floor to ceiling so at night it’s very dark inside.

My friend had wanted it unfurnished as she was intending to bring lots of stuff. And there’s plenty of room for everything. It’s around 26 sq m so you could easily fit in a 3 seater sofa, desk/table, double bed, storage and still have room to move around easily. So it’s very flexible for whatever you might want to put in there.

But if you need it furnished then that can be done depending on what you would want in there.

As well as the room there is also next to the kitchen a separate cute living room which would be yours to use. It’s just been totally refurbished and is a really cosy extra room to hang out in. I am very much a nightowl so the agreement with my friend would have been that she would have priority use of the room in the evenings and then late night I would have it. I am a big baseball fan so – if the game ever returns! – then I do a lot of after midnight viewing in the living room. But the good thing is that the way the flat is designed – thick Victorian walls – means that sound doesn’t travel much within the home.

I like my own space but also enjoy socialising sometimes so was looking forward to sharing with someone who would be happy having their own space but also hanging out sometimes in the living room if we were both in the mood when hopefully life becomes a little easier in terms of social distancing. I love cocktail making so if you like a drink then at least a weekly cocktail hour is always a possibility.

There’s a bath and very powerful shower and the hot water is 24 hours. And the kitchen is small but well stocked with lots of storage.

The rent covers everything and also if you need it, access to Netflix/Prime/PS4 as well as the usual broadband.

There would be a cleaner coming in every week and the plan would have been not only for the room to be cleaned but also sheets and towels changed and washed. But obviously if you preferred to do that yourself that’s something to be discussed.

I am not keen on the “it’s your turn to buy the toilet roll” conversations so the rent would include all of any stuff like that but also – as long as it wasn’t too obscure a choice! – things like milk, tea and coffee there for you. I would find out what you liked and make sure that there’d always be the basics such as pasta/rice in the cupboard so you’d know that you’d always have something to cook and drink whatever time you came in.

I work in the media so am still going out to the office every day (able to walk to work being one of the great things about the flat) but as I don’t get up until after 9, you’d have totally free rein if you’re earlier in the morning with the bathroom and kitchen. And obviously depending on how things go with the lockdown etc, can follow as much as possible social distancing measures until things are relaxed. Again, as the room is nice and spacious, it’s definitely not a confined place to hang out in.



The location is wonderfully central and very convenient to get everywhere. The nearest tube is Chancery Lane but Farringdon, Russell Sq and Kings Cross stations are all nearby. So that’s both underground and National Rail options all accessible. But in the current circumstances when people are avoiding public transport, it’s also great to walk anywhere in central London. In normal times I hardly ever use the tube anyway and lots of buses to hop onto if going further.

Soho is only a short bus ride away although again I usually walk. Likewise Angel is up the road and St Paul’s and the City not far at all. So it’s a flat that’s very convenient for lawyers (Gray’s Inn obviously being the closest Inn) and anyone working in the City.

When venues finally start to open up then there’s lots of restaurants and cafes in the area from high end to takeaways. Plus there’s the really wonderful Exmouth Market which has every sort of restaurant that you could want just round the corner.

Now obviously a place so central on a main road does mean that it’s not ideal if you’re someone who loves their perfect peace and quiet! It’s a lot of hustle and bustle although Gray’s Inn Road is unusual for central london in that during the very late hours it’s actually relatively quiet as there are no night buses running outside. The room is double glazed which keeps the noise down but still if you’re very sensitive to such things then its probably not best for you. But - with a little extra help from my ear plugs - I have never had any problem over the past ten years.

I will post some photos over the weekend and will also sort out a video walk through of the flat to send as I know that in these difficult times, it’s not going to be easy to do the usual viewings. Hope that covers anything but feel free to send any questions if you want to know more.

Last Updated: 3 week(s) ago
Member Since: Friday 1 May 2020



Location Is Approximate

You need to be a Registered Lodger to do this.

It's quick and completely free for lodgers to use our service and contact landlords.

Not Now Thanks Sign Up for Free